Skip to content

The Real Help Project Update

December 24, 2011

Due to my visit with family I’ve really not gotten any reading done this week and so Amanda was nice enough to agree to take a break this day and postpone our next review with the project. Part of the reason she agreed is that we will hopefully be meeting in mid-February which will allow us to chat about all of the books in person and record our final wrap-up together :)

Amanda and I are reading the books recommended by the Association of Black Women Historians in their statement on The Help. I do recommend you spend this day catching up on our old posts, if you have the time, and adding a few of the titles to your list of books to buy with any gift certificates you may receive over the holiday season!Below is the schedule and links to all of our posts.

September 10th – A Million Nightingales by Susan Straight: my reviewAmanda’s discussion post
September 24th – Labor of Love, Labor of Sorrow: Black Women , Work, and the Family, from Slavery to the Present by Jacqueline Jones: my review and discussionAmanda’s post
October  8th – The Book of Night Women by Marlon James: my review and discussionAmanda’s post
October 22nd – Coming of Age in Mississippi by Anne Moody: my reviewAmanda’s discussion post
November 12th –  Like One of The Family: Conversations from a Domestic’s Life by Alice Childress: my reviewAmanda’s discussion post
November 26th – Out of the House of Bondage: The Transformation of the Plantation Household by Thavolia Glymph: my review and discussionAmanda’s post
December  10th – The Street by Ann Petry: my review and discussion, Amanda’s post
December 24th –  Holiday break…
January 14th – To ‘Joy My Freedom: Southern Black Women’s Lives and Labors after the Civil War by Tera Hunter
January  28th – Blanche on the Lam by Barbara Neely
Feb 11th – Living In, Living Out: African American Domestics and the Great Migration by Elizabeth Clark-Lewis
Feb 25th – Wrap-Up

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2011 10:53 am

    This has been a wonderful project Amy, and I appreciate the summary of all the links here! I hope you have a wonderful Christmas!

  2. December 24, 2011 11:04 am

    Great project and quite the handful of recommendations! Have a great Christmas.

  3. December 25, 2011 5:14 am

    This reading project has been fruitful. I thank you for the BAND too. It helped me do a lot of reading in that direction and will continue in the next year.

Please share your thoughts, discussion always welcome!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

